Pineapple Margarita

IMG_0002 (1)

I don’t really drink. In fact, my inability and lack of desire to drink is somewhat of a continuous joke around here. I used to tolerate alcohol very well, even though I was never much of a partier. Now I’m too old to party but that’s besides the point. However, my roommate is somewhat of an expert and he came with a backlog of wine and spirits and I’m trying to learn to appreciate it. I know there’s a lot to be learned and it can complement food so well, so here we are at my first bloggable cocktail.

Why isn’t this more popular? The spicy salt rim is the ideal complement to the tropical pineapple flavour. Tart and sweet; so refreshing.

Spicy Salt Rim

2 tablespoons sea salt
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon coriander

Mix together on a saucer and set aside.

Pineapple Puree

Makes 2 cups

1 small, ripe pineapple, peeled and chopped
1/4 cup agave nectar

In a high-powered blender or food processor, pulse pineapple and agave nectar until completely smooth. Set aside and get out your shakers.

IMG_0016

To make 1 margarita

1.5 oz white tequila
1/2 oz Cointreau
1 1/2 oz freshly squeezed lime juice (I used one juicy lime)
1/4 cup pineapple puree
1 3/4 cup ice
Lime, mango and pineapple wedges, for garnish

Run a lime wedge over the edge of your glass and rim it with the salt. Combine all ingredients in a shaker and shake until that satisfying cold reaches your hands. Pour into the rimmed glass and garnish as you wish. Relax.

IMG_0029

One thought on “Pineapple Margarita

Leave a comment